You are currently viewing Dizzy announce new self-titled album & share new single ‘Open Up Wide’
Album Artwork

Dizzy announce new self-titled album & share new single ‘Open Up Wide’

Dizzy are very excited to announce details of their third, self-titled album, which will be released on August 18 on Communion Records. The latest single from the album, ‘Open Up Wide’ is out now.

‘Open Up Wide’ is Dizzy’s most unabashedly pop-leaning release to date. Its perfectly cyclical, almost trance-indebted hook tips the waters of the band’s trademark indie-pop into something that sounds bigger and more brazen, setting the tone for the hard-hitting sounds of the new album. Lyrically, the track is “a tongue-in-cheek ode to a music industry we’ve never understood all that well,” explains singer Katie Munshaw. It explores the superficial, often strenuous nature of working in the music industry, with sardonic lyrics that question the state of the machine.

Speaking about ‘Open Up Wide’, Katie says: “When we started recording the album, our producer David [Pramik] was super conscious of cutting the fat from each song. One afternoon he encouraged us to write our parts in a simpler, more ‘spoonfed’ fashion for easy listening, when Mack piped up cheekily ‘Open up wide! Here comes the airplane!’ The next morning we were all feeling a bit resentful of that mindset and ‘Open Up Wide’ came to be while we were having our morning coffees.”

Dizzy’s lead singer, Katie Munshaw, has been thinking a lot about the way things look and the way you can find comfort in disappearing into it all. She describes the new album, a bold indie-pop beast continuing the legacy built from two previous shimmering records, as a “patchwork quilt” with each song a square, or a sliver, of her life. “None of them have all that much to do with each other and yet they wouldn’t exist without one another,” she says.

It makes for a colourful record that’s intrinsically Dizzy – one that swerves comparison, instead reflecting the shapeshifting and imperfect nature of its musicians. Avoiding the spotlight yet more confidently themselves than ever.


  1. Birthmark
  2. Close
  3. Open Up Wide
  4. Starlings
  5. Knock The Wind
  6. My Girl
  7. Jaws
  8. Salmon Season
  9. Barking Dog
  10. Cell Vision
  11. Stupid 4 U
  12. Are You Sick Of Me Yet?
Photo credit: Boy Wonder

Leave a Reply