You are currently viewing Jana Mila announces debut album Chameleon & shares new single ‘Somebody New’
Album Artwork

Jana Mila announces debut album Chameleon & shares new single ‘Somebody New’

Jana Mila has signed to New West Records and will release her debut album, Chameleon, on August 30. The 10-song set was produced by Todd Lombardo (Kacey Musgraves, Morgan Wallen, Kelsea Ballerini) and recorded in Nashville, TN. Chameleon draws from a wild array of sources, entertaining new ideas on every song: dusty Laurel Canyon folk, Nashville country, and driving ‘70s rock.

The Amsterdam-based singer-songwriter’s debut introduces Jana Mila (pronounced Yah-nuh MEE-law) as an artist deeply committed to self-reckoning and self-possession. Writing songs is her means of finding and sustaining her identity. She says, “The album is a conversation with myself, a way of getting to know myself better. There are little fears woven into every lyric, but there’s also advice to myself. I’m writing to find a better part of myself that has some wisdom” She puts her stamp on every note, turning those fears into an album of remarkable confidence, eloquence, and power. Chameleon is a self-portrait rendered in vibrant detail.

Jana Mila shares the album’s first single ‘Somebody New.’ Mila says, “There was a moment not too long ago when suddenly all these suppressed emotions came to light and turned my relationship upside down. I found myself trying to soothe the growing resentment towards me, even though I was the cause of it. A day later, this song seemed to almost write itself.”


  1. Like Only Lovers Could
  2. Somebody New
  3. Chameleon
  4. Love Let Go
  5. I Wasn’t Gonna
  6. It’s True
  7. Let Me In
  8. In Between
  9. Rosie
  10. The City
Photo credit: Paul Bellaart

Leave a Reply