You are currently viewing Little Dragon announce new album Slugs Of Love & share new single/video ‘Kenneth’
Album Artwork

Little Dragon announce new album Slugs Of Love & share new single/video ‘Kenneth’

Little Dragon, the much-loved Grammy-nominated Swedish band are set to release their new album Slugs Of Love, out July 7 on Ninja Tune. Released alongside the announcement is new single ‘Kenneth’ a soulful, lo-fi tribute to a childhood friend. “It’s about friendship and love” the band explain, “and the dirt of getting caught in bitterness and taking the wrong turn mentally”. The band have once again teamed up with animation studio Unlimited Time Only (who have previously worked with Khruangbin, Leon Bridges, Teva and more) for a stunning and playful video to accompany the track.

Consisting of school friends Erik Bodin (drums and percussion), Fredrik Wallin (bass), Håkan Wirenstarnd (keyboards) and Yukimi Nagano (vocals), the band have gone on to become one of the most consistent, respected and universally loved bands of recent times. Recorded in the musical oasis of their Gothenburg Studio — the same studio they have worked in for almost 20 years — on Slugs Of Love they bring their distinctive blend of soulful pop, electronics and R&B — all underpinned by lead singer Yukimi’s instantly recognisable vocals — to the fore across 11 tracks that encapsulate the full range of their diverse individual musical influences.

The record features a guest turn from Damon Albarn (Gorillaz/Blur) on ‘Glow’, a “slow dripping glittery ride to a daydream in wonderland” and a collaboration with respected East Atlanta rapper JID (who is signed with J. Cole’s Dreamville label) on the previously released single ‘Stay’, a song which charts the ups and downs of a relationship.

Slugs of Love:

  1. Amöban
  2. Frisco
  3. Slugs of Love
  4. Disco Dangerous
  5. Lily’s Call
  6. Stay (feat. JID)
  7. Gold
  8. Kenneth
  9. Glow (feat. Damon Albarn)
  10. Tumbling Dice
  11. Easy Falling

Photo credit: Delali Ayivi

Leave a Reply