You are currently viewing Nadine Shah announces new album Filthy Underneath and shares new single/video ‘Twenty Things’
Album Artwork

Nadine Shah announces new album Filthy Underneath and shares new single/video ‘Twenty Things’

Nadine Shah’s fifth album Filthy Underneath will be released on February 23 as the inaugural release on EMI North. Following lead single ‘Topless Mother’ she has today shared the second single to be taken from the album, ‘Twenty Things’.

Speaking of ‘Twenty Things’ Nadine says: “It’s a love letter of sorts, to the people I met whilst in recovery. No-one tells you that you’ll end up feeling so deeply for the people you meet there. What makes it more intense is the fact that you know, statistically, that not everyone is going to make it once they’ve left the place. Some of the most unspeakable things had happened to these people and equally some of the most heinous things were done by them. You’re supposed to love the sinner and hate the sin. I loved them all.”

Three years might seem like a prolonged absence to some people, but it’s also a period of time in which the apparatus that holds your world in place can be dismantled and reassembled so that you can keep living, keep creating. Filthy Underneath chronicles a period of unprecedented turbulence in Nadine Shah’s life. And yet, the experience of listening to it is oddly life-affirming – a parade of ghosts spanning the entirety of Nadine’s thirty-seven years, moving with balletic beauty to the music that Nadine and long-time co-writer and producer Ben Hillier have created around them, with renewed emphasis on placing melody and movement front and centre.

Filthy Underneath:

  1. Even Light
  2. Topless Mother
  3. Food For Fuel
  4. You Drive, I Shoot
  5. Keeping Score
  6. Sad Lads Anonymous
  7. Greatest Dancer
  8. See My Girl
  9. Twenty Things
  10. Hyperrealism
  11. French Exit

Photo credit: Tim Topple

Leave a Reply