You are currently viewing Salt Cathedral announce album Before It’s Gone; share new single/video ‘Terminal Woes’
Photo credit: Cynthia Villamil

Salt Cathedral announce album Before It’s Gone; share new single/video ‘Terminal Woes’

The prolific, worldly and genre-spanning New York-based, Colombian duo Salt Cathedral have today announced the release of their second record, Before It’s Gone. Available from March 22, Before It’s Gone features recent singles ‘Complacent’, ‘Strong Emotions’, plus recent DSP drop ‘cellphone’ alongside eight further, brand new tracks.

Before It’s Gone explores a self-contained universe musically; the duo – Juliana Ronderos and Nicolas Losada – describe it as the sound of forgetting all their influences, to create songs without boundaries. Lyrically, it’s a concept record about time, and how that relates to our current modern existence: the woes of climate change, complacency, friendship, trust and social media. It is the follow up to their widely acclaimed debut album CARISMA, which was released in 2020 via Ultra.

In tandem with the news, the band have shared the latest single from the forthcoming record, with the polyrhythmic, east-asian influenced ‘Terminal Woes’. Demonstrating Ronderos’ vocal and musical versatility, the track is an important offering with a militaristic urgency – a protest song about climate change. Engaging at every turn, showcasing the adventurous soundscapes the duo have become known for, it is accompanied by a beautifully choreographed Jesse Bronstein-directed music video.

Speaking about the meaning behind the single, Ronderos says “Corporate greed hasn’t allowed for bigger change to happen. Meanwhile the consequences of a warming planet are not only affecting humans but entire ecosystems. We have to do better for our future children.”

Before It’s Gone:

  1. Before It’s Gone
  2. Complacent
  3. Terminal Woes
  4. Strong Emotions
  5. Off The Walls
  6. I Can Trust
  7. Wait In Line
  8. Cellphone
  9. Thinking
  10. Empty Machine
  11. Protect Her

Photo credit: Cynthia Villamil

Leave a Reply