You are currently viewing Sofie Winterson announces Benny Sings produced album Southern Skies with new single ‘Jump’
Album Artwork

Sofie Winterson announces Benny Sings produced album Southern Skies with new single ‘Jump’

Amsterdam-based musician Sofie Winterson announces details of her forthcoming album Southern Skies produced by Benny Sings via Excelsior Recordings in June.

The project is a continuation and expansion of their 2019 collaborative EP Moral and new single ‘Jump’ offers up more of the accidental magic which is at the core of their partnership.

‘Jump’ chronicles uncertainty yet offers soothing reassurance with its lilting, warm indie-pop sound. A nod to the rest of the album which saw Sofie embrace simplicity and foster a new perspective. Of the new single Sofie says: “Jump is about wanting to make a big change in life, but not knowing where that change will take you. It’s meant to comfort you in this state of insecurity. It can encourage you not to overthink where that change will lead you, since you will be a different person by the time you’ll get there.”

Created in primarily Benny Sings’ canal-hugging studio in Amsterdam, Southern Skies was formed as an act of stripping-back and growing as a songwriter. Sofie’s last full-length album Sophia Electric instead acted as a way to expand her work as a producer. Her varied influences, from the soul and folk she grew up on to the dream-pop of her university years can all be heard as part of the album’s eclectic palette which leans in a more minimal direction than before.

Putting the lyrics and storytelling front and centre, Sofie’s love of reading has never been more evident than in the way she approached writing for this record. “What I try to do in my lyrics [is] to find the best way to describe a thought,” she says, “the thought could be anything, it’s always my challenge to try and find exactly the right words.” Noting that her favourite part of reading is not so much following the narrative, but revelling in the descriptions of situations.

Featuring original vocal takes and lyrics that were written in the room, it marked a new way of working for Sofie, with Benny encouraging her to approach writing in a different way, a more technical way. Pulling inspiration from both Adrienne Lenker and Rachel Cusk’s ‘Transit’ in tandem, what’s clear is Sofie Winterson’s never-failing ability to tell a story with grace, immense consideration and the freedom to be projected upon and moulded as her listener’s see fit.

Southern Skies:

  1. Hours
  2. Be Bad
  3. Lost You To A Boy
  4. Here I Stay
  5. Image
  6. Moral
  7. Love Me Less
  8. Jump
  9. As Alive
  10. Perfect Goodbye
Photo credit: Laura Moreau

Leave a Reply