You are currently viewing Sophie Ellis-Bextor shares new single ‘Breaking The Circle’ & announces new album HANA
Album Artwork

Sophie Ellis-Bextor shares new single ‘Breaking The Circle’ & announces new album HANA

Sophie Ellis-Bextor has shared a brand-new single ‘Breaking The Circle’ and announced her seventh studio album HANA will be released on June 2 via Cooking Vinyl.

‘Breaking The Circle’ follows Sophie’s single ‘Hypnotized’ with Wuh Oh last year and her most recent album Sophie Ellis-Bextor’s Kitchen Disco: Live from the London Palladium, which was also her first live album. A pensive and spirited track with a euphoric chorus, ‘Breaking The Circle’ is the first introduction to Sophie’s new album. She says;

“’Breaking The Circle’ is inspired by those late-night moments you have, where you question everything and feel a buzz of adrenaline about what tomorrow might bring. It’s urgent and dramatic and optimistic… the perfect introduction to the new album.”

New single ‘Breaking The Circle’ and her forthcoming album HANA were made with long-time collaborator and friend Ed Harcourt. It is their third in a trilogy of records, with each stemming around the thematic frame of a location. The collaboration began in 2014 with the critically and commercially successful Wanderlust, which was inspired by Eastern Europe, and continued in 2016 with Familia, inspired by Latin America. New album ‘HANA’, which Harcourt describes as “kaleidoscopic joy”, is inspired by East Asia and began with the album track ‘Tokyo’ and Sophie’s first trip to Japan pre-pandemic in 2020.


  1. A Thousand Orchids
  2. Breaking The Circle
  3. Until The Wheels Fall Off
  4. Everything Is Sweet
  5. Lost In The Sunshine
  6. Tokyo
  7. Beyond The Universe
  8. He’s a Dreamer
  9. Reflections
  10. Hearing In Colour
  11. Broken Toy
  12. We’ve Been Watching You
Photo credit: Laura Lewis

Leave a Reply