You are currently viewing Vök share new single ‘Headlights’ & announce new self-titled album
Album Artwork

Vök share new single ‘Headlights’ & announce new self-titled album

Icelandic trio Vök have shared their new single ‘Headlights’ and announced their brand-new self-titled album Vök, which will be released on September 23 via Nettwerk.

A perfect last introduction to their forthcoming album, ‘Headlights’ is an experimental pop summer anthem with an upbeat melody and candid lyrics about the exhilarating whirlwind that love can be. Lead singer Margrét says; “’Headlights’ is a track about falling in love and how it can be like speeding in a car without a steering wheel. It’s a song about falling for someone without meaning to and not understanding what is really happening. We felt that getting caught in someone’s headlights was a good analogy of this.”

‘Headlights’ follows recent singles ‘Illuminating’, ‘Miss Confidence’, ‘Lose Control’ and ‘Stadium’ alongside their EP Feeding on a Tragedy. Recorded in their Reykjavík studios, the EP was the follow-up to their acclaimed 2019 album In the Dark, which was written and recorded by the band in collaboration with producer James Earp (Bipolar Sunshine, Fickle Friends, Lewis Capaldi).

Their new album Vök, was self-produced by Margrét and Einar in Iceland, mastered by Glenn Schick (Phoebe Bridgers, Future) and mixed by David Wrench (Arlo Parks, Sampha) and Friðfinnur Oculus. The 12-track record is a unique and lushly layered body of work that marks a new era for the band, whilst continuing to cement their position as one of the most exciting and forward-thinking alternative bands right now.


  1. Intro
  2. Something Bad
  3. No Coffee at the Funeral
  4. Cold
  5. Lose Control
  6. Headlights
  7. Skin
  8. Stadium
  9. Illuminating
  10. Miss Confidence
  11. Lost In The Weekend
  12. Running Wild


Leave a Reply