You are currently viewing Why Bonnie announce debut album 90 In November; share title track
Album Artwork

Why Bonnie announce debut album 90 In November; share title track

New-York-by-way-of-Texas transplants Why Bonnie announce their debut album, 90 in November, out August 19 on their new label Keeled Scales, and share the title track and an accompanying video directed by Shelby Bohannon.

’90 in November’ is a sunny guitar pop song about lead singer and songwriter Blair Howerton’s hometown of Houston, packed full of sparkling snapshots—”a technicolor sun” and “a cardboard cutout cowboy waving me goodbye.” “I wanted to capture the bittersweet feeling of saying goodbye to the landscape that shaped you while still dealing with the anxieties of what lies ahead,” says Howerton. “Nostalgia always hits with a flash of disjointed memories – like speeding down the highway or sweating in the Texas heat.”

Following their 2020 Voice Box EP, 90 in November crashes into existence with a squeal of feedback and a burst of distorted guitar. Inspired by fellow Texans Townes Van Zandt, Blaze Foley, alt-rock like the Lemonheads and the Replacements, the eccentric pop of Sparklehorse, and Sheryl Crow, the album is a dynamic introduction to an evolutionized Why Bonnie. 90 in November is a meditation on the pains and pleasures of nostalgia and a lesson in learning how to look back at the people, places, and experiences that have shaped us, with room for both unvarnished honesty and rose-tinted melancholy.

90 in November:

  1. Sailor Mouth
  2. Galveston (Youtube)
  3. Nowhere LA
  4. Hot Car
  5. Silsbee
  6. 90 In November (Youtube)
  7. Healthy
  8. Sharp Turn
  9. Lot’s Wife
  10. Superhero

Photo credit: Grace Pendleton


Leave a Reply