You are currently viewing Atta Boy announce third LP Crab Park & share new single/video ‘Deep Sea Ladder’
Album Artwork

Atta Boy announce third LP Crab Park & share new single/video ‘Deep Sea Ladder’

LA indie-pop quartet Atta Boy announce their long-awaited third studio album Crab Park due out October 21 along with contemplative single and video ‘Deep Sea Ladder,’ where the band swims in the freedom of embracing their own insecurities.

Atta Boy’s third studio album Crab Park is a pacifying body of work that feels like a candle in a dark room–a quiet guiding light that evokes a particular sense of serenity. With album art designed by the band’s own Lewis Pullman (drums), the ten track body of work allows the band to thoughtfully reflect on the varied aspects of change–nostalgia, an ever-changing understanding of home, the value of meaningful friendship and the vulnerability that comes with embracing the full, broad spectrum of emotions throughout life’s highs and lows. With imaginative song structures and twirling melodies, Crab Park is a buoyant celebration of the natural cycle of living, dying, dissolving, and reforming, ultimately, perpetually in bloom.

On the latest track ‘Deep Sea Ladder,’ Eden Brolin sings with unbounded honesty, “I know this house is sinking, every shingle out of line / I know this house is broken, you remind me all the time / But this house is mine.” It’s an intimate, pensive tune that sees the narrator take ownership of their flaws and insecurities where they find freedom in their own faults.

The accompanying video, directed and drawn by David Delafuente, uses a method of hand drawn rotoscopy on paper with pencil, depicting sketches that neatly complement the track’s words and instrumentation. Over three weeks, Delafuente animated the video in his New York apartment and adjusted his drawing style overtime to match the intricacies of the track. Providing insight into the process, Delafuente shares, “I wanted to create portraits of “Domestic Intimacy” – images of beds, kitchens, windows, and the figures that inhabit these interior spaces. Throughout the song, there was the illustrative lyric “This House Is Mine..” which for me became the viewpoint. It spoke about ownership over insecurities and doubts.” Delafuente continues, “During production I felt my images were not being honest. I did not see insecurity being portrayed. I changed my drawing style to be more free, less intense and more flawed lines. I really like the small moments in the video where the marks are off – I think that’s the whole point.”

Crab Park:

  1. Crab Park
  2. Spring Seventeen
  3. Blue Moon
  4. Steller’s Jay
  5. We Ran From Midnight
  6. Deep Sea Ladder
  7. Alex
  8. It Goes Away
  9. Boys
  10. Twin Flame

Photo credit: Sarah Midkiff


Leave a Reply