You are currently viewing Born Days announces new LP My Little Dark & shares animated video for title track
Album Artwork

Born Days announces new LP My Little Dark & shares animated video for title track

Born Days announces its debut album, My Little Dark as well as a fantastic animated video for the title track from Johannes Helgelin.

Born Days is the conceptual darkwave synth-pop project from Chicago-based multi-instrumentalist singer, songwriter, and producer Melissa Harris. Her first full-length album My Little Dark is set to release on October 6, 2023, through AudioSport Records.

Harris explains the meaning of ‘My Little Dark’: “This song is about an extremely personal and complex relationship that is so interwoven and binding that there is no beginning and end. Have you ever been caught in a dark and lonely place that you have built inside your heart? Through creating this song, I discovered that I have a say in how my destiny will play out despite everything that happened in the past. Born Days, as a project, is really about waking up to just being my real, true self despite how raw and embarrassing it can be to admit all these really personal things in my music.”

Candidly vulnerable and emotionally complex, My Little Dark is a concept album that draws inspiration from the confessional poetry of Sylvia Plath and the childlike innocence of Dr. Seuss to narrate a mystical, sci-fi, coming-of-age, adventure of a young woman trying to survive the psychological limitations she has placed on her own reality. Mystical and melancholic, Harris’s ethereal voice escapes into dark symphonic soundscapes driven by dreamy, synth-heavy polyrhythms that paint a cinematic electronic pop soundtrack soaked in moody, hazy textures.

Drawing influences from alternative, darkwave, dreampop, and goth culture, Harris plays with a sonic palette of soft, dark, and dusty tones that mix elements of grunge, post-punk, neo-psychedelia, shoegaze, and modern pop. Deeply nostalgic and profoundly personal, My Little Dark explores Harris’s struggles with mental illness, trauma, and destructive cycling. Her distinctively soft and sweet voice is saturated with otherworldly essence that explodes into apocalyptic crescendos and escapes into ghostly innocence. Harris’s songs are brilliantly enchanting and sonically dripping with haunted textures, little spirits from the ether, and dystopian landscapes that leave you longing for a more innocent and beautiful time.

My Little Dark:

  1. Enemy
  2. My Little Dark
  3. Bird Song
  4. Over Again
  5. Dreams
  6. How To Disappear
  7. Ganymede
  8. Deep Empty (DMT Feelings)
  9. Destroyer
  10. Conscious Conscience

Leave a Reply