You are currently viewing La Luz announce new LP News of the Universe; share new single ‘Strange World’
Album Artwork

La Luz announce new LP News of the Universe; share new single ‘Strange World’

La Luz – the band led by Shana Cleveland – has announced the May 24 release of their new album, News of the Universe. The LP marks their first for Sub Pop. With a credo adapted from science fiction author Octavia E. Butler, an album title from a collection of metaphysical poetry, and an expansion in consciousness brought on by personal crisis, the album finds guitarist and songwriter Cleveland embracing a changing world with unconditional love. News of the Universe is also a record born of calamity, a work of dark, beautiful psychedelia reflecting Cleveland’s experience of having her world blown apart by a breast cancer diagnosis just two years after the birth of her son.

La Luz shares ‘Strange World,’ the first single off News of the Universe. “It’s been a strange and difficult few years, and at moments, I have found myself rushing to move forward in time, to leave the present and escape to whatever is next,” says Cleveland. “The best advice a friend gave me during a time when I was feeling particularly overwhelmed and battling consecutive panic attacks was to go outside, take my shoes off, and sit with my feet on the earth. This seemed to slow the universe down in a way that made it feel easier to handle. So this chorus is something of a mantra to myself ‘we’ll be fine, just take your time.’” The video was shot by Vanessa Pla and features Cleveland on a bike delivering the La Luz Observer newspaper whose headline reads “News of the Universe.”

News of the Universe marks the first appearance for drummer Audrey Johnson and the final ones from longtime La Luz members bassist Lena Simon and keyboardist Alice Sandahl, whose contributions add a bittersweet edge to a record that is both elegy for an old world and cosmic road map to a strange new one.

News of the Universe:

  1. Reaching Up to the Sun
  2. Strange World
  3. Dandelions
  4. Poppies
  5. Good Luck With Your Secret
  6. Always in Love
  7. Close Your Eyes
  8. I’ll Go With You
  9. Blue Moth Cloud Shadow
  10. News of the Universe
  11. Moon in Reverse
  12. Blue Jay

Photo credit: Wyndham Garrett

Leave a Reply