You are currently viewing Mammouth Penguins announce new album, Here, & shares new single ‘Species’
Album Artwork

Mammouth Penguins announce new album, Here, & shares new single ‘Species’

Cambridge indie pop trio Mammoth Penguins are delighted to announce their return with new album Here set for release on May 3 via Fika Recordings.

To celebrate the news, the band are sharing lead single ‘Species’—a jagged, explosive firework of a song from vocalist Emma Kupa about finding a place in the world, that’s rapidly becoming a live favourite with fans.

Following the release of 2019’s big, bold, and confident album There’s No Fight We Can’t Both Win, plus the initial shock of the global pandemic cancelling a trip to SXSW in 2020, the band returned to the studio in the summer of 2021 to start laying down material.

Recorded, edited, and mixed at Sickroom Studios in Norfolk by Owen Turner, the new album was produced by drummer Tom Barden, with string arrangements, cello and violin on Here and Success by Mary Erskine, and mastered by Joe Caithness.

Here leans into the band’s raw pop-punk power-trio sound more than ever, with a deep growl of layered guitars and bursts of percussion and harmony. The songs and artwork explore themes of finding a home for yourself and familiarity with people and places. Although they return to a classic three-piece sound, Mammoth Penguins weren’t restricted by that palette, adding finishing touches of percussion, extra guitars and backing vocals in short bursts in a garden shed, and also bringing in gorgeous strings to sweeten the title track.


  1. Species
  2. I Know The Signs
  3. Flyers
  4. Blue Plaque
  5. Everything That I Write
  6. Here
  7. Nothing and Everything
  8. Help Yourself
  9. Old Friends
  10. Lost Friends
  11. Success
  12. A Plea For Kindness

Leave a Reply