You are currently viewing Olivia Jean announces new album Raving Ghost & shares dizzying first single ‘Trouble’
Album Artwork

Olivia Jean announces new album Raving Ghost & shares dizzying first single ‘Trouble’

Garage rocker Olivia Jean has announced her third solo album, Raving Ghost, arriving via Third Man Records on May 5. Produced by Olivia Jean at Los Angeles’ famed Valentine Recording Studios and Third Man Recording Studio in her homebase of Nashville, Raving Ghost is heralded by the dizzying first single, ‘Trouble’ – a prime showcase for the Detroit-born artist’s explosive guitar work.

“Ever since I was a kid, writing songs and playing guitar has been an addiction that nothing else can touch,” Olivia Jean says. “My guitar is an appendage. I could never put my guitar down even if I tried.”

Raving Ghost is an album populated by mysterious characters in various states of danger – cursed lovers, doomed souls, women deliriously haunted by unseen forces. Over the course of its 11 spellbinding tracks, Olivia Jean amplifies that drama with her wildly melodic take on garage rock, handling each riff with the power and precision she’s previously shown as a member of the Black Belles and as an in-demand session/touring musician. Raving Ghost features backing from such top musicians as My Morning Jacket keyboardist Bo Koster, Jellyfish co-founder Roger Joseph Manning Jr, and drummers Carla Azar (T-Bone Burnett, Nikki Lane) and Patrick Keeler (The Raconteurs, The Afghan Whigs).

Raving Ghost:

  1. Raving Ghost
  2. Too Late
  3. Spider
  4. Trouble
  5. I Need You
  6. Ditch
  7. Fun
  8. Fate
  9. Orinoco Flow
  10. Godmother
  11. Don’t Leave
Photo credit: Jada & David Parrish

Leave a Reply