You are currently viewing Palehound announces new album Eye On The Bat & shares new single/video ‘The Clutch’
Album Artwork

Palehound announces new album Eye On The Bat & shares new single/video ‘The Clutch’

Today Palehound announce their much-anticipated new album, Eye On The Bat, due out July 14 on Polyvinyl Record Co.

The album is a documentation of illusions shattering in the face of profound change, of witnessing the tiny details that build or break a relationship, and the flood that comes after. The new record was announced alongside an intimate and electrifying new video for lead single ‘The Clutch’. The blazing, melodically immediate new track is charged with a relatable array of the aching care, relief and regret that wash over the cracks and eventual dissolution of a fantasy.

El Kempner (they/them) shares, “‘The Clutch’ is the very first song I wrote for this album, back in 2020 right when lockdown started. I had been on a tour that was sliced in half by the onset of the pandemic and we had to apocalypse road trip back to New York across the country from Oregon, where our next show had been scheduled for. While that was happening, I was also having a triggering romantic experience with somebody I didn’t know too well, and by the time I got home my whole body seemed to be spinning in turmoil. Writing and producing this song grounded me and helped me process a new future and self that I hadn’t anticipated.”

Video co-director Brittany Reeber shares, “Adam (Kolodny, co-director), El and I wanted to create something that captured the charged, raw drive of the song. Inspired by slick, visceral performance videos of the early 00’s, we got ourselves the biggest space we could find and Adam created a visual aesthetic with the circular track, rotating head and alternating key lights that ultimately build (along with the band’s electric performance) to an epic and dizzying climax.”

Eye On The Bat:

  1. Good Sex
  2. Independence Day
  3. The Clutch
  4. Eye On The Bat
  5. U Want It U Got It
  6. Route 22
  7. My Evil
  8. Head Like Soup
  9. Right About You
  10. Fadin

Photo credit: Tonje Thielsen

Leave a Reply