You are currently viewing REBEL YELL announces new LP DESOLATION; shares new single & video ‘Kombat’
Album Artwork

REBEL YELL announces new LP DESOLATION; shares new single & video ‘Kombat’

Prolific electronic/industrial-pop act REBEL YELL (AKA Grace Stevenson) returns with new single ‘Kombat’, out today alongside an unnerving clip created in collaboration with fellow artist Zac Mergard. The track and video arrive alongside the announcement of her new album DESOLATION – alongside limited-edition merchandise – out Friday, October 13 via Dinosaur City.

Opening with static bass, drum machine and REBEL YELL’s distinct mechanical vocals, ‘Kombat’ is a call for authenticity. REBEL YELL questions the headspace of a self-saboteur before suggesting they “feel the rhythm, the beat that is inside” and embrace vulnerability and freeness.

REBEL YELL shares, “Too often (women in particular) are taken for a ride by the self sabotaging recipient of their kindness or love. My plea is to not deprive ourselves of what we want, what we love or what we deserve. We all have pasts, bad traits and mistakes, but if you feel for someone who feels for you, why not work on being a better person while with this other person, rather than shutting yourself off to the possibility of happiness and love?”

Accompanying the track is a video clip created by REBEL YELL in the small coastal town of Eumundi in collaboration with Zac Mergard. A visual interpretation of the track, the clip depicts the fun and freedom of losing yourself in nature with dear friends, scenes of friends dressed as witches dancing around a giant bonfire interspersed with clips of REBEL YELL dancing alone at an abandoned theme park.


  1. The Hell We Chose
  2. Destiny 11:11 with California Girls
  3. Kombat
  4. TNT with Black Dahlia
  5. Reprise
  6. The Heat with Cong Josie
  7. Protect
  8. Shadow with Tralala Blip
  9. Rain on Me with Tired Girl

Photo credit: Jordan Lochart

Leave a Reply