You are currently viewing WILSN announces debut album Those Days Are Over; shares new single & video ‘Hurts So Bad’ feat. Josh Teskey
Album Artwork

WILSN announces debut album Those Days Are Over; shares new single & video ‘Hurts So Bad’ feat. Josh Teskey

Australian vocal powerhouse WILSN is thrilled to announce her debut album, Those Days Are Over, out February 3 on Ivy League Records/Universal Music Australia (Rolling Blackouts C. F., Hatchie). A fusion of pop, soul, Motown and jazz both classic yet contemporary, WILSN’s unbelievable voice and honeyed sound on the record are showcased on single and video ‘Hurts So Bad’ featuring Josh Teskey, lead singer of award-winning Melbourne blues-rock band The Teskey Brothers.

Built from a trumpet melody by friend and acclaimed horn player Billy Aukstik (Mark Ronson, Erykah Badu, Sharon Jones, Charles Bradley), the heart-wrenching break-up song is accompanied by a video from Triana Hernandez, where the masterful performers are in full flight. “Right before Covid hit, I toured through Europe and the UK with The Teskey Brothers,” WILSN explains. “I was already a fan before this but seeing their show every night and occasionally getting up to sing with them in their set really solidified my love for the band. Josh is one of my favourite singers in the world and I feel super lucky he’s singing with me on my debut record.”

“I was at a crossroads with my songwriting,” Busch says. “Cos I have two big loves in singing. I have my kind of Alicia Keys, Sam Smith, Adele-style love for pop music. But then I also love jazz and Motown, Amy Winehouse and Aretha Franklin and that kind of music. So I was really torn – do I want to be pop or soul? On tour, I was ending my set with probably my souliest, bluesiest song and that one was really connecting with the crowd. In that moment I felt like I’d found what I was supposed to be doing and I immediately realized I needed a whole set of these songs.” 

Those Days Are Over

  1. If You Wanna Love Me
  2. You Know Better
  3. Tell Me
  4. Those Days Are Over
  5. Me Or Her
  6. Hurts So Bad
  7. Every Day and Every Night
  8. I Love You So
  9. Too Sober For Words
  10. Come On Over My Way
  11. When Those Bright Lights Go Down
  12. Never Happen Again
  13. Hurts So Bad (Feat. Josh Teskey)

Leave a Reply