You are currently viewing Bess Atwell announces new album Light Sleeper alongside the shimmering new single ‘Release Myself’
Album Artwork

Bess Atwell announces new album Light Sleeper alongside the shimmering new single ‘Release Myself’

Following the release of her critically acclaimed LP Already, Always in 2021, Brighton-based artist Bess Atwell announces her next full-length release Light Sleeper, showcased by the shimmering new single ‘Release Myself’.

Produced by The National’s Aaron Dressner (Taylor Swift, Ben Howard, Sharon Van Etten, Ed Sheeran), Light Sleeper looks to continue the warm and effervescent aesthetic Bess Atwell has been cultivating for herself in recent years. Featuring the previously shared tracks ‘Sylvester’ and ‘The Weeping’, her newest offering sees her grow not only as a songwriter, but as one of this country’s more revered artists.

The new record will also include the new single ‘Release Myself’, which was recently premiered on Steve Lamacq’s BBC 6Music show. Accompanied by a beguiling new video, shot with Dylan Friese Greene, she shines across this vibrant new delight, highlighting some of the more euphoric moments from her next collection.

Adding about ‘Release Myself’, she said, “There are always a couple of songs on a record that just sort of fall out of you and this was one of them. This was the first time I’ve managed to write about my panic disorder without slipping too far into sorry-for-myself or cheesy, faux-empowering territory. It’s a song that says “hey I’m struggling but I’m not a victim”.

And on the new visuals, “I knew I wanted to lean into a slightly 90s wall-of-guitars sound and make it as energetic as possible, without losing the song. My friend (artist Derek Inver) and I were discussing this era of music and how brilliantly expressive and unafraid a lot of the indie pop was. I wanted to perform like I meant it, because I do. I hope that’s apparent on this track.”

Light Sleeper:

  1. Everyone Who’s Not In Love With You Is Wrong
  2. Release Myself
  3. Sylvester
  4. Fan Favourite
  5. The Weeping
  6. Something Now
  7. Spinning Sun
  8. I Am Awake
  9. Crowds
  10. Light Sleeper

Photo credit: David Pentcoste

Leave a Reply