You are currently viewing Maple Glider details new LP, I Get Into Trouble. Listen/watch ‘Dinah’ now
Album Artwork

Maple Glider details new LP, I Get Into Trouble. Listen/watch ‘Dinah’ now

Maple Glider, the project of Naarm/Melbourne-based singer-songwriter Tori Zietsch, has detailed her anticipated second album I Get Into Trouble, out October 13 via Pieater (Australia) and Partisan (rest of world). To coincide with the announcement, Maple Glider has shared album highlight ‘Dinah’ paired with a devilishly irreverent video, made with principal creative collaborator and live bandmate Bridgette Winten, full of colourful costumes and ridiculous props (see: pink vibrator as religious preacher’s microphone).

‘Dinah’ fully embraces the pop side of Maple Glider’s trademark psych-folk like never before, but pairs it with lyrics that turn the song into what she considers the scariest – and perhaps angriest – thing she’s ever released. The titular Dinah refers to the bible story ‘Dinah Gets Into Trouble,’ where a young woman is victim-blamed for being sexually assaulted. In the song, Maple Glider expertly dissects the double standards within her own experience growing up in Christianity; and the accusations levelled at “non-believers” whilst the church itself was not a safe space.

Says Zietsch: “For me, ‘Dinah’ is the scariest thing I’ve ever put out. It’s probably the most pop feeling song I’ve released, but it’s really quite an angry song. I have felt incredibly disturbed and frustrated and sad in the process of writing and putting it together. I wanted the video to be fast paced, colourful, and full of energy, the same kind of riled up energy I had when I wrote the song. But it also had to be silly, because I can’t help that.”

I Get Into Trouble is a thematic expansion of Maple Glider’s 2021 debut LP To Enjoy is the Only Thing, going into greater and clearer detail, as she delves back into her Christian childhood while deconstructing her relationship to her body, alongside concepts of consent and shame. Throughout the album, she draws parallels between religion and sexuality in novelistic detail, before landing on a note of hopeful optimism, and embracing a new life of peacefulness. “This album feels more like an opening up because there are things I wasn’t feeling ready to publicly share through songs, but now I finally feel ready,” she says.

I Get Into Trouble:

  1. Do You
  2. Dinah
  3. Two Years
  4. FOMO
  5. Don’t Kiss Me
  6. You At The Top Of The Driveway
  7. You’re Gonna Be A Daddy
  8. For You And All The Songs We Loved
  9. Surprises
  10. Scream

Photo credit: Bridgette Winten

Leave a Reply